Research, like education, is a core mission of the Institute. As a strongly collaborative organization, the Institute is keen on fostering collaborative research that pools industry resources as a strategy to amplify results and impact. The potential for collaborative impactful research spans the range of the AECO marketplace, bridging silos that often inhibit collaboration. The research committee intends first to identify these opportunities and then to set about catalyzing collaborative initiatives to realize these potentials.

Committee Initiatives:

Committee Members

Photo of Erik Olsen

Erik Olsen

Managing Partner, Transsolar KlimaEngineering

Committee Chair
Photo of Ajla Aksamija

Ajla Aksamija

Professor, University of Utah

Committee Member
Photo of Michele Andalaro

Michele Andalaro

Project Manager and Engineer, Werner Sobek

Committee Member
Photo of Gabrielle Brainard

Gabrielle Brainard

Adjunct Assistant Professor, Columbia GSAPP

Committee Member
Photo of Timothy Brown

Timothy Brown

Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Architecture Programs, Clemson University

Committee Member

Henry Burton

Committee Member

Neil Chrismann

Committee Member
Photo of Ryan Danks

Ryan Danks

Senior Engineer, Rowan, Williams, Davies & Irwin (RWDI) Inc.

Committee Member

Jose Estrada

Committee Member

Daniel Faoro

Committee Member
Photo of Matthew Fineout

Matthew Fineout

Committee Member

Paul Griese

Sr Consultant, Wheaton Sprague Building Envelope

Committee Member
Photo of Kathleen Kulpa

Kathleen Kulpa

Architect, Ennead Architects LLP

Committee Member

Jake Leventhal

Committee Member

Matthew Lipiec

Committee Member

Berardo Matalucci

Committee Member

Scott Moffatt

Market Manager

Committee Member

Reed Olson

Committee Member

Silverio Patrizi

Senior Associate, Thornton Thomasetti

Committee Member
Photo of Mic Patterson

Mic Patterson

Ambassador of Innovation & Collaboration, Facade Tectonics Institute

Committee Member
Photo of Stephen Selkowitz

Stephen Selkowitz

Senior Advisor for Building Science, Lawrence Berkeley National Lab

Committee Member
Photo of Andrea Zani

Andrea Zani

Project Manager and Engineer, Permasteelisa

Committee Member

Want to get involved?

The Research Committee is currently full but new members are considered annually or as deemed appropriate by the committee chair. Expressions of interest are always welcome.

Request to join