Advocacy & Policy

The Advocacy Committee was founded in recognition of the necessity to engage the Institute in industry standards, codes, and public policy as a strategy to further the mission of accelerating a transformation to sustainable buildings and urban habitat. This may involve developing and forwarding our own initiatives or supporting the initiatives of other groups. For example, FTI members recently provided proposed facade related modifications to the USGBC for incorporation in their latest building rating system. Our own initiatives could potentially involve the development of codes, standards, metrics, rating systems and/or guidelines relating to various aspects of facade system design and delivery.

Committee Initiatives:

  • We recently submitted proposals to LEED v4 with recommendations to improve facade performance and occupant comfort – read the full announcement.

Want to get involved?

Applications to this committee are considered by the committee members on a case-by-case basis.

Request to join