2021 Vitruvian Honors & Awards Ceremony

The Facade Tectonics Institute’s Vitruvian Honors & Awards program celebrates outstanding achievements in the field of facade design and delivery. The program recognizes outstanding projects, as well as project teams and individuals that have made extraordinary contributions to facade design, engineering, fabrication, installation and lifecycle performance. The projects and contributions demonstrate the goals of the Institute in advancing the art, science and technology of designing, planning, and constructing high-performance building facades for the benefit of the planet and people.

FTI's Vitruvian Honors & Awards Committee worked collaboratively to develop seven distinct categories that are emblematic of The Institute's vision and mission as well as celebrate innovation, collaboration, and achievement within the AECO industry.

On December 2, 2021, attendees will have the opportunity to learn more about each of the finalists and hear from our panel of judges. During an awards ceremony, FTI will announce an award recipient in each of the following categories:

  • Outstanding New Facade
  • Outstanding Facade Renovation
  • Outstanding Facade Preservation
  • Outstanding Facade Innovation
  • Outstanding Facade Integration
  • Collaborative Achievement
  • Unsung Hero

Learn more about sponsorship opportunities.

Want to help promote the event? Check out our media kit.

Event Speakers


Thursday, December 2

  1. Opening Remarks

  2. Networking Break

  3. Networking Break

  4. Panel with Jury Members Click for details


    • Adrian Smith, Adrian Smith + Gordon Gill Architecture
    • Joe Khoury, ALT Limited
    • Karen Brandt, Heintges
    • Kelly Sutherlin McLeod, Kelly Sutherlin McLeod Architecture, Inc.
    • Rowan Georges, Skidmore, Owings & Merrill
    • Ulrich Knaack, TU Delft
    • Mic Patterson, PhD LEED AP+, Facade Tectonics Institute, Inc.
  5. Closing Remarks

Finalists Announced!

Outstanding New Facade Finalists

Apple Marina Bay Sands
Submitted by: Eckersley O’Callaghan Engineers

707 Fifth-Manulife Place
Submitted by: Skidmore Owings Merrill

Outstanding Facade Renovation Finalists

The Century Project at the Space Needle
Submitted by: Olson-Kundig

Arthur J. Altmeyer Social Security Administration Building
Submitted by: Snow-Kreilich Architects

Outstanding Facade Preservation Finalists

First Congregational Church of Long Beach
Submitted by: John Fidler Preservation Technology, Inc.

1271 Avenue of the Americas
Submitted by: Pei Cobb Freed & Partners

Outstanding Facade Innovation Finalists

San Francisco Museum of Modern Art
Submitted by: Kreysler & Associates

K11 Musea Art & Cultural Centre
Submitted by: Eckersley O’Callaghan Engineers

Outstanding Facade Integration Finalists

150 Fifth Avenue
Submitted by: Boston Valley Terra Cotta & STUDIOS Architecture

Submitted by: Zas Lavarello & Associates Architects

Collaborative Achievement & Unsung Hero Awards

Please note that the winners for the Collaborative Achievement and Unsung Hero have already been selected. Be sure to register for the event to discover who won in these special categories!